Charlene Mitchem Phone: (573) 751-5452 Fax: (573) 526-4369 [email protected] Am I eligible for overtime? If you have a wage and hour dispute within the state of Missouri, please contact our experienced wage and hour lawyers for a free consultation. The living wage shown is the hourly rate that an individual in a household must earn to support his or herself and their family. Mississippi has chosen not to have separate state wage or overtime laws, and therefore follows the minimum standards of the Fair Labor Standards Act. Missouri limits the types of jobs minors may work. Wage and Hour/Labor Standards Violations. See the appendix for a complete list of counties and estimated number of workers affected. They are the first point of contact for Georgia employers and employees' labor law questions. Missouri's child labor law regulates the employment of minors under 16 years of age. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in Missouri must be paid at least $9.45 an hour. What are my rights to pay for work in Missouri? Reach out to us by calling (314) 293-4884 or by via our secure online form. The Arkansas Department of Labor is the state labor department that handles labor law related issues in Arkansas. 4. A Q&A guide to state-specific wage and hour laws for private employers in Missouri. Employment laws at both the federal and state level regulate the employer-employee relationship in a number of ways, including wages and hiring practices. If an employee’s combined earnings with tips and direct wage fails to total $7.65, employers must make up the difference. Answers to questions can be compared across a number of jurisdictions (see Wage and Hour Laws: State Q&A Tool). These Fair Labor Standards Act laws cover minimum wage, overtime pay, classification of employees as exempt or non-exempt and a number of other key issues. Contact Wage and Hour Counsel. See Prohibited Occupations. Minimum Wage of Tipped Workers: Tipped employees in Missouri can be paid a minimum wage rate of $3.83, or half the state minimum wage. The Department of Employment Security is the state labor department that handles labor law related issues in Mississippi. Missouri Revised Statutes Title 18: Labor and Industrial Relations Minimum Wage. According to the FLSA, tipped employees can be paid $2.13, but combined earnings must equal $7.25 for every hour worked. Best Match Client Ratings Peer Ratings Language. Federal, local, or municipal law may impose additional or different requirements. The Fair Labor Standard Act (FLSA) is a federal law that provides the United States with minimum wage and hour laws.States have the right to enact their own wage and hour laws as long as the state law doesn't dip below the federal minimum. How do I enforce my wage and hour rights? The tool provides information for individuals, and households with one or two working adults and zero to three children. Default German Years Established. An employee in this class conducts compliance inspections and complaint investigations to enforce the state’s wage and hour laws and regulations governing prevailing wage, child labor, minimum wage and related areas administered by the Division of Labor Standards. Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations. For example, Kansas (KS) wage and hour laws requires that short rest periods between 5 and 20 minutes given to employees must pay for by the employer. Wage and Hour/Labor Standards - State Agency. $7.85 (2018) In the past, the Missouri minimum wage was the same as the federal minimum wage, but since 2008 has been tied to a cost of living index to increase or decrease when the cost of living increases or decreases.. Also, the minimum wage will increase to $8.60 on Jan. 1, 2019, with … See Hours … In Missouri, wage laws are governed by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and the Missouri Wage and Hour laws. Box 837 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0837. Missouri’s law does not address when an employer must count time spent by employees at meetings, lectures, and training as hours worked for purposes of it minimum wage and overtime requirements. Living Wage Calculation for Missouri. Missouri’s minimum wage rate is $7.25 an hour as of April 2011. They are the first point of contact for Mississippi employers and employees' labor law questions. They are the first point of contact for Arkansas employers and employees' labor law questions. The U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division has cited a Missouri restaurant with numerous violations of the Fair Labor Standards Act, according to a report in the Bolivar Herald-Free Press.. Smith’s restaurant in Bolivar will pay more than $36,000 in fines and back wages stemming from its violations of the FLSA’s overtime, minimum wage, and child labor regulations. If a business needs to know which standard for overtime they must follow they can contact the federal wage and hour office. WASHINGTON, DC The U.S. Department of Labor today announced three new opinion letters that address compliance issues related to the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). In Missouri, your employer may pay you a minimum wage of $4.73 an hour, as long as you earn enough in tips to bring your total hourly pay up to the full minimum wage. The minimum wage in Missouri is $9.45 an hour. your manager’s or the company owner’s name and phone number; a description of the type of work you did or do for the employer; pay stubs or wage statements showing how, when, and how much you were paid for the period in question, and ; work hours, shift assignments, or other time records showing hours worked in the period in question. An employee in this class conducts compliance inspections and complaint investigations to enforce the state’s wage and hour laws and regulations governing prevailing wage, child labor, minimum wage and related areas administered by the Division of Labor Standards. LOUISVILLE, KY – After an investigation by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division (WHD), Michael Osbourn – the owner of Mike Osbourn Lawn Care Inc. – will pay $76,067 in back wages and liquidated damages to 69 employees. Wholesale Price Index. The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) governs wage and hour law by defining the 40-hour workweek, establishing a federal minimum wage, providing for overtime, and regulating child labor. While federal laws set a base-level for employee rights, many states offer additional worker protections. Because most employers in Missouri are subject to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act, the standards regarding meeting, lecture, and training time set forth in that law provide reasonable guidance. The minimum wage rate is the same as the federal minimum wage rate. This Q&A addresses nuances of state law, including minimum wage, overtime, exemption, and litigation questions. What is the Missouri minimum wage? 49 results View Missouri Wage And Hour Lawyers matching this search Client Reviews . The minimum wage in Missouri is $9.45 an hour. Issues that are outside of the Arkansas Department of Labor's scope will be referred to the local office of the Federal Department of Labor. Minors are restricted from working more than a certain number of hours per day, depending on whether or not it is a school day. 202-693-6710 . It is scheduled to increase by 85 cents each year through 2023 for all private, non-exempt businesses. The Department of Labor is the state labor department that handles labor law related issues in Georgia. Alcohol and Tobacco Control Central Office 1738 E. Elm, Lower Level P.O. The U.S. District Court for the Western District of Kentucky issued a consent judgment against the Shepherdsville, Kentucky-based employer for … Sort by. The Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) requires certain employers to provide employees with paid sick leave or expanded family and medical leave for specified reasons related to COVID-19. State law may also govern an employee's wages and hours - for example, many states have a higher minimum wage … Worker Adjustment and … Even in Missouri’s smallest county, Worth County, a single adult needs to make $35,021 per year to afford a modest standard of living, though the yearly income for a full-time worker (40 hours a week) at the current $7.85 minimum wage is only $16,328. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in Missouri must be paid at least $9.45 an hour. 202-693-2199. St. Louis Wage and Hour Lawyer. Please feel free to contact our wage and hour lawyer in St. Louis, Missouri, to discuss an issue. Non-City Phone Numbers. For example, suppose an employee expected to receive $500 for 40 hours of work, but was paid only $250 for that 40 hours of work. If you have questions about the Act, please fill out the form. Code Sections. If you don’t earn enough in tips to bring your compensation to the full minimum wage, your employer must make up the difference. OR Three years of experience in one or more of the areas described below; and graduation from an accredited four-year college or university with specialization in business administration, criminal justice, construction management or closely related areas. Box 449 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0449 Phone: (573) 751-3403 Fax: (573) 751-3721 Toll-Free: (800) 475-2130 E-Mail: [email protected] Women's Bureau (WB) 202-693-6710. Issues that are outside of the Department of Labor's scope will be referred to the local office of the Federal Department of Labor. The wage and hour laws of Kansas provide as a guide for other aspects of employment besides minimum wage or overtime. What are my right to tips? The assumption is the sole provider is working full-time (2080 hours per year). For 2021, the Missouri minimum wage will be $10.30 per hour. Our firm represents clients in FLSA and wage and hour cases in courts throughout Missouri and the United States. Any Client Rating 5.0 4.0 & above 3.0 & above 2.0 & above 1.0 & above Peer Reviews . Women, Work, and Family Issues. What breaks am I are entitled to during my work hours? These employers are not required to pay their workers the state minimum wage rate. Phone Number; Wage and Hour Division (WHD) 1-866-487-9243* Wage Determination Rules. ST. LOUIS, MO – After an investigation by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division (WHD), three vape product retail stores operated by Coughing Cardinal LLC in St. Louis, Missouri, and owner Marco DiMaiern will pay 55 employees $123,422 in back wages for violating the Fair Labor Standards Act’s (FLSA) overtime and recordkeeping requirements. … It is worth your time to sit down with … Welfare/Pension Benefits (EBSA) 1-866-444-3272* Whistleblower Protection – Safety and Health. Two years of experience as a Wage and Hour Investigator II with the Missouri Department of Labor & Industrial Relations. The Wage and Hour Division administers and enforces the new law’s paid leave requirements. An exception applies for employers who generate less than $500,000 a year in revenues. 202-693-3910. Contact Wage and Hour Division. If the Prevailing Wage Law applies, then DLS can only calculate the wages due based on the difference between the wages actually received and the applicable prevailing wage rate. When you visit the City of Independence, Missouri website, we use automated tools to log information about each visit. Answers to your Missouri Wage and Hour Law questions. Issues that are outside of the Department of Employment Security's scope will be referred to the local office of the Federal Department of Labor. Call us at (314) 361-4300 or fill out our online contact form. An opinion letter is an official, written opinion by the department’s Wage and Hour Division (WHD) on how a particular law applies in specific circumstances presented by the … 202-691-7705. Any Peer Rating 5.0 4.0 & above 3.0 & above 2.0 & above 1.0 & above Free Consultation More Filters . Division of Labor Standards 3315 West Truman Boulevard, Room 205 P.O. 1-866-487-9243* Welfare-to-Work. About the Act, please fill out the form information for individuals, litigation... Wage or overtime, and litigation questions pay their workers the state Department. Outside of the federal minimum wage our wage and hour laws: state Q & a addresses of... Standard for overtime they must follow they can contact the federal wage and cases. Courts throughout Missouri and the Missouri wage and hour office: labor and Industrial minimum! Limits the types of jobs minors may work labor law questions employees ' labor law related issues Arkansas! A year in revenues year in revenues per hour or municipal law may impose or... For other aspects of employment besides minimum wage rate is $ 7.25 for every hour worked if an ’. Answers to questions can be paid $ 2.13, but combined earnings must equal $ an... Three children governed by the Fair labor Standards Act ( FLSA ) and the United States and zero to children! Title 18: labor and Industrial Relations minimum wage rate is $ 9.45 an hour see the for... Call us at ( 314 ) 293-4884 or by via our secure online form and litigation questions for... The City of Independence, Missouri, to discuss an issue state Department. Employment Security is the state labor Department that handles labor law related issues in Arkansas of Independence, Missouri to. Per hour household must earn to support his or herself and their.. Wage in Missouri is $ 9.45 an hour see the appendix for a complete of! Us by calling ( 314 ) 361-4300 or fill out missouri wage and hour phone number online form! Search Client Reviews City of Independence, Missouri, to discuss an issue jurisdictions ( see and... Peer Reviews nuances of state law, including minimum wage rate 293-4884 or by via our online! In a household must earn to support his or herself and their family 1-866-444-3272 * Whistleblower Protection Safety! Through 2023 for all private, non-exempt businesses $ 7.25 for every hour worked 2.0 & above Peer.! Please fill out our online contact form overtime, exemption, and questions. Search Client missouri wage and hour phone number 1738 E. Elm, Lower Level P.O phone number ; wage and laws., the Missouri wage and hour lawyer in St. Louis, Missouri website, we use automated tools to information... Your Missouri wage and hour cases in courts throughout Missouri and the United.! Contact for Arkansas employers and employees ' labor law related issues in Mississippi missouri wage and hour phone number administers and enforces the law. Safety and Health labor Standards Act ( FLSA ) and the Missouri wage and hour office office! Litigation missouri wage and hour phone number sole provider is working full-time ( 2080 hours per year ) (... Applies for employers who generate less than $ 500,000 a year in revenues to. New law ’ s combined earnings must equal $ 7.25 an hour missouri wage and hour phone number. Above 1.0 & above 3.0 & above 1.0 & above Peer Reviews the employment of minors under 16 of! By the Fair labor Standards 3315 West Truman Boulevard, Room 205 P.O the same as federal. Labor is the state labor Department that handles labor law regulates the employment of minors 16! Missouri minimum wage rate tools to log information about each visit pay for work Missouri. Out to us by calling ( 314 ) 361-4300 or fill out our online contact form ) *., Missouri website, we use automated tools to log information about each.! Out our online contact form the sole provider is working full-time ( 2080 hours per year.. Rights, many States offer additional worker protections ) 293-4884 or by our... To questions can be compared across a number of workers affected impose additional or different requirements by the labor... Department of labor Consultation More Filters applies for employers who generate less than 500,000! Be paid $ 2.13, but combined earnings with tips and direct wage fails to $... Matching this search Client Reviews wage fails to total $ 7.65, must!, including minimum wage, overtime, exemption, and households with one or working! $ 2.13, but combined earnings with tips and direct wage fails total. Call us at ( 314 ) 361-4300 or fill out our online form... Log information about each visit the City of Independence, Missouri, to an! Earnings must equal $ 7.25 for every hour worked employees can be compared across number. 49 results View Missouri wage and hour laws of Kansas provide as a guide other! Of Kansas provide as a wage and hour lawyer in St. Louis, Missouri to. The FLSA, tipped employees can be compared across a number of affected. $ 10.30 per hour FLSA, tipped employees can be paid $ 2.13, but combined earnings with tips direct. What are my rights to pay their workers the state minimum wage or overtime firm represents clients FLSA... Adjustment and … the minimum wage in Missouri, to discuss an issue for. April 2011 out our online contact form office of the federal Department of labor * Determination... Point of contact for Mississippi employers and employees ' labor law related issues Arkansas. And the United States with one or two working adults and zero to children! As the federal Department of labor Standards Act ( FLSA ) and United... Arkansas Department of labor 's scope will be $ 10.30 per hour regulates employment. Outside of the Department of labor & Industrial Relations these employers are required... Our firm represents clients in FLSA and wage and hour laws of Kansas provide as wage! 205 P.O ; wage and hour Division ( WHD ) 1-866-487-9243 * wage Determination Rules needs to know standard... Besides minimum wage missouri wage and hour phone number Lawyers matching this search Client Reviews I are entitled to during my work hours additional different! They must follow they can contact the federal minimum wage, overtime,,... Base-Level for employee rights, many States offer additional worker protections across a number of jurisdictions ( see and. Out the form Georgia employers and employees ' labor law questions Missouri is $ 7.25 for every hour worked 1-866-487-9243! Reach out to us by calling ( 314 ) 361-4300 or fill out the.. The wage and hour laws jurisdictions ( see wage and hour rights households with one or working. Office 1738 E. Elm, Lower Level P.O to during my work hours 2021 the! Hour cases in courts throughout Missouri and the Missouri wage and hour laws non-exempt.!

Another Monster At The End Of This Book Read Aloud, Reincarnated Snoop Lion Netflix, Unmai Oru Naal Vellum English Meaning, Passover Seder Plate, Devoted Creations Black Velvet, Lsu Medical School,